Tools for knowing the learners in my classroom

Learning about and understanding the learning styles of the students in my classroom is a task I go through every year in August.  I am introduced to a new set of students who are all different in their own right from the previous years class.  Each has strengths and weaknesses, and must be look at as individuals as well as a group so learners.  Some of the tools I have used in the past include surveys, questionnaires  and conferences.  I spent the afternoon looking through the articles in the resource list as well as researching on my own the topic of learning styles and multiple intelligences.  I found quite a few very insightful articles and websites.  Spending the time to figure out your student’s learning styles will help both the students and you be successful in their education.  If we want students to be active learners and engaged in their own learning success then we need to understand how it is that they learn.   I also have to remember that just knowing how students learn is only one side of the equation.  I then have to tailor my teaching to meet those needs.  This means collaborating with my colleagues to find new ways of instruction or brush up on old ways not used as much.  Having a big bag of teaching tricks to make my lessons work for as many of my students possible is my quest.  The following list is the articles and websites I spent time researching.

http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/03/lp319-01.shtml  

http://teacherweb.com/IN/EagleElementary/MrsMoore/Interest-Survey.pdf

http://www.primary-education-oasis.com/kids-learning-styles.html#.UQSr9L88B8F

http://education.jhu.edu/PD/newhorizons/strategies/topics/Learning%20Styles/diversity.html

 

About leslieburdick

3rd grade teacher at Larson Elementary in Wasilla, Alaska. Wife and mother of 2 who enjoys hiking, camping, scrap-booking, sewing, and cooking
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

