Tools to manage and track differentiation with my students

I like the idea of using Google calendars in schools to help students keep track of assignments and progress.  Teaching students to manage their work and stay organized is essential to success in school as well as life.  The other things I like is the fact that as a parent I can stay connected to my child’s schooling and help them stay engaged in their learning.  With this math program we have been able to connect through Edmodo.  Before starting this program I had only heard about Edmodo through my high school students teachers.  I had no idea it could be used for elementary students until our 5th grade team set up a group last year.  Now we have yet another way to stay connected in our student’s education and are helping them develop their own PLN.  I also really enjoyed the link to free technology for teachers.  Many times teachers have to hunt and peck for ways to assist their students in their learning.  Having an idea of a variety of ways to help students take some of the guess work out of it.  I am one who strives to be organized yet never feels completely organized.  I always say it is a work in progress.  Many of these tools are helpful to differentiate instruction of students and allows teachers track students achievement in their assigned tasks.  Students are more engaged in their learning and find success in their achievements.    Students do not have to feel like they have to struggle to keep up if they do not understand and can work at their own pace.  The teacher can track student work and assist as needed.  One of my goals with this class is to learn more about how I can use technology to help my students.  With these links and articles I feel I am on my way to understanding more.   

http://www.buzzmaven.com/2007/05/10-reasons-schools-should-use-google-calendar-next-year.html

http://blog.edmodo.com/2012/04/18/how-to-use-edmodo-small-groups/

http://www.freetech4teachers.com/2012/02/7-tools-students-can-use-to-manage.html#.UQb0M0pU6S4

About leslieburdick

3rd grade teacher at Larson Elementary in Wasilla, Alaska. Wife and mother of 2 who enjoys hiking, camping, scrap-booking, sewing, and cooking
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tools to manage and track differentiation with my students

  1. ashleyblood says:

    Hi Leslie,

    Thanks for sharing about Edmodo. I have heard of this tool but have not actually used it before. I find that most technology tools can be used with all grades you just have to adapt how you use it and what you use it for. I also really appreciated the list of technology tools you provided. I agree that sometimes we want to use a technology tool with our students but we are not sure exactly what we want. Having a list such as the one your provided makes it much easier for us.

Leave a Reply

