Using tools to manage and deliver feedback to students

I was just recently introduced to drop box through this class, but I was very interested in reading more information about it.  I like the idea of being able to assign work to my students they can work on at home and turn in easily over the computer.  This would enable students who cannot come to school due to illness or vacations to still stay with the class and up to date with their academics.  Again I have to look at these items and ideas and realize that my 3rd graders may not be the right venue for introducing the technology, but I do think there are definite application possibilities in both middle school and high school.  Upper elementary (4-5) could be using DropBox in their classes for some assignments, but not all.  I also found the website on SchoolCircut to be really interesting.  I have always felt that there is a better system out there than what we are currently using.  The SchoolMax system was great in the beginning, but with new standards based reporting the system does not like to play well together.  I also understand that the middle and high schools drive the system and we will only change if they have problems and want to change.  My biggest complaint is that we need a system that works for all of education K-12 as well as parents.  I do like the idea of being able to give feedback to my students on their progress in a variety of subjects and think that technology will only help that feedback to be easier to both give and manage.

http://plpnetwork.com/2012/08/10/dropbox-a-superb-classroom-tool/

http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/2011/04/20/free-tools-challenge-17-using-dropbox-dropitto-me/

http://www.schoolcircuit.com/

   

About leslieburdick

3rd grade teacher at Larson Elementary in Wasilla, Alaska. Wife and mother of 2 who enjoys hiking, camping, scrap-booking, sewing, and cooking
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Using tools to manage and deliver feedback to students

  1. Hallie Bennett says:

    I like the comment you made about certain technology being only appropriate for certain age groups. I often find it harder to find ways to incorporate this technology used for providing feedback for my younger students, but it works very well with my older students. Also, Drop Box is something I just learned about as well and it is something that I would like to try on my own and then with my students because I have heard very good things about it.

    • I actually started using it for personal reasons and found that it has great applications for work as well. It is a nice way to keep information updated at more than one location and not have to email or deal with a jump drive. I like to create flipcharts for my class at home and then drop them in to get at work. Helps with time when we all do not have the amount of time we need in a day!

Leave a Reply

